Pacman is a Fertile Soil

READ: Matthew 13:1-23

Hand-with-Soilweb

Who doesn’t know Manny Pacquiao (aka Pacman)? Not only that he’s every Filipino’s pride, even Hollywood celebrities and NBA stars would take a break just to meet the World’s Greatest Boxer.

I am not exactly a big fan of boxing, but I see Manny’s life as an inspiration. My book Rediscovering Your Intelligence highlights in Chapter 6, “The Real Thing that Counts”:

. . . There’s something about the phenomenal boxing champion that really draws my attention. . . .

When asked how he managed to come out victorious in 2008 over another boxing legend, Oscar dela Hoya, Pacquiao shared one thing he had learned that applies to everyday life: “Don’t tell God how big is your problem. Instead, tell your problem how big is your God.”

Although it sounds like the boxer got the quote from a Christian book, a preacher or a spiritual adviser, the statement goes to unveil his heart. Making it a point to pray before and after every fight and to acknowledge God on worldwide television for every victory—is more than just being religious. I believe Manny Pacquiao has a heart that seeks and reveres his God.

When a pastor had left this comment (on my post “Lesson from Pacquiao and Marquez”) that Manny is the humblest boxer he’s ever known, even though he doesn’t share the “same faith” with him, I replied: “I believe it won’t be long and he will soon be one of us.” Although honestly speaking, I was inclined to assume then that he was already a believer. But thank God that while I was wrong with my presumption, my words that he will soon become a Christian have been fulfilled! Online news and social media updates reveal that the Pound for Pound King has just recently met the King of All Kings.

The boxing icon is not someone who could forever be overwhelmed with what the world has to offer. While some extremely popular and wealthy personalities do not see their need for God, Pacman now confesses, “Without Christ, I am nothing.” A video circulating through Facebook even speaks of the champ quitting his vices and now getting addicted to Bible studies.

Fame and the deceitfulness of wealth are still out to choke anyone to death and destruction. A genuine seeker of the truth, nonetheless, will be free from those thorns.

“But blessed are your eyes because they see, and your ears because they  hear. . . . But the one who received the seed that fell on good soil is the man who hears the word and understands it. He produces a crop, yielding a hundred, sixty or thirty times what was sown.

– Matthew 13:16, 23

  Please feel free to review my book “Rediscovering Your Intelligence” on askDavid.com

Leave a comment