What Really Matters

forblog

READ: Romans 9:14-18

 

Who do you think you are? A brilliant scientist? A multi-awarded teacher or researcher? A popular pastor and speaker? A successful businessman or a self-made entrepreneur?

As for me, I am nobody to the world. But the truth is—in the eyes of my Father–I’m not a nameless, insignificant person with an equally insignificant message.

Even as I’m trying to promote my first book as a newly published author, there are friends and acquaintances who are happy for me. I’m grateful to them for being there to cheer and share the joy of attaining the first step to a big dream. I feel honored that they wouldn’t mind spending a few minutes to take a look at my book page, click LIKE or even write some encouraging notes.

I also thank God for those friends and acquaintances who simply shrugged off their shoulders or even raised their brows…. That’s part of life. You can’t please everyone and you can’t expect one and all to share in your joy, or much more, support your endeavor.

While I am not hurt or offended by those who ignore my book campaign, I just couldn’t help but wonder what’s causing their indifference…. Maybe people change. They are too busy…. They have their own lives to live. I could be right or wrong with the answers I have in mind….

I am only sure of this: I am His daughter. My joy and success do not depend on the approval of men. What is most important in every pursuit I take is the endorsement and favor of my Father God, the King of All Kings. I can hear him say, “Your hard work is meaningless…. Everything is useless if I AM not with you, more so if I AM not for you.”

So then, everything depends, not on what we humans want or do, but only on God’s mercy. For the scripture says to the king of Egypt, “I made you king in order to use you to show my power and to spread my fame over the whole world.”

Romans 9:16-17 (GNB)

2 thoughts on “What Really Matters

Leave a Reply

