Childlike Prayer

Which of you, if his son asks for bread, will give him a stone?
Or if he asks for a fish, will give him a snake? If you, then,
though you are evil, know how to give good gifts
to your children, how much more will your Father
in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him?

Matthew 7:9-11 (NIV)

One of my greatest dreams was that of having my own laptop for my ministry and writing career. I would pray for this need occasionally– until I became more desperate and started praying daily at the wee hours of the morning. My prayers seemed selfish, but those were the most meaningful times I had with God. I was literally coming to Him like a little child asking for a special something from his daddy. It no longer bothered me whether the Lord would grant my request or not. All I knew was that my Father would not give me a stone or a snake when I asked for some technologies that would make me more productive in my job.

Thank God– He did work things out in just six months! I did not have the means financially. But God made a way that I finally got my laptop and digital camera. Two months later, I got blessed with a photo quality printer plus a bonus computer table and chair!

Not only did I get a breakthrough in my prayer life. I also discovered one remarkable attribute of our Father: He delights in our humility, when we come to him like little children, when we pray not just lengthy pretentious or indifferent prayers, but simple prayers coming from a heart full of expectation and faith.

Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find;
knock and the door will be opened to you.

For everyone who asks receives; he who seeks finds;
and to him who knocks, the door will be opened.

– Matthew 7:7-8 (NIV)

Leave a Reply

