Reality Test

READ: Matt 6:24-34 (NIV)

My husband and I have been serving as missionaries under a non-salaried mission organization. While we raise our own support, we’ve experienced both living in lack and abundance and yet have learned to live a carefree life, with Matthew 6 really sinking in our hearts.

My family of origin, though, couldn’t fully accept our God-given vocation. My sister would often worry about me and ask, “What about going back to real work?… So what about your plans?… Your children? Don’t you have plans for their future?”

What sensible and practical questions that we had never seriously thought of. When I tried to put on my sister’s world view glasses, I actually began to ask myself, “Are we being irresponsible for not even thinking about our children’s future?” We have a seven-year-old daughter and a baby boy who both have a lot of growing needs. “Can we afford to raise them or give them good education?”

Honestly, I was caught unprepared and even a bit upset to answer my sister’s inquiries. I didn’t want to sound spiritual. But at the back of my mind, I know and I am confident of the answer. The first requirement in our calling is to trust God. He’s the Boss! We’ve seen His faithfulness in other people’s lives and in our lives as well. We only have to count His blessings and be faithful to His call. No more question marks…

I was young and now I am old,
yet I have never seen the righteous forsaken
or their children begging bread.
They are always generous and lend freely;
their children will be blessed.
— Psalm 37:25-26

 

One thought on “Reality Test

Leave a Reply

